Home > CJ3B, Off Roading > Big Boots for the small car…

Big Boots for the small car…

December 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve been driving a stock CJ3B since the past 2 years. All this while on stock 6.00 X 16 Non Directional Mud & Snow tyres, more commonly known as NDMS Tyres.

Pictures by Sukhpal OTR 20th December 2009 6 Pictures by Sukhpal OTR 20th December 2009 2 Pictures by Sukhpal OTR 20th December 2009 3 Pictures by Sukhpal OTR 20th December 2009 1

Picture curtsy: Sukhpal Khlabanda

Recently I came to know that a friend of mine was disposing off a set of 4 tyres of his vehicle I decided to buy and try them out on my CJ3B.

IMG00407-20101118-2047 IMG00409-20101118-2047 

 

please click for the full post

The tyres are MAXXIS MUDZILLAS 31 X 11.5 X 15. For those who do not understand the configuration or the meaning of the specification, the above translates into 31” (height) x 11.50” (width) & 15” (rim size) or 292/70/15. As the tyres on on CJ3B were on 16” wheels I knew that I couldn’t install them on the old rims and further these new tyres were so wide that I needed rims/ alloys that were atleast 8”or more wide.

Here is a comparison of both the tyres side by side, before installation

IMG00186-20101119-1131 MRF NDMS on the left and Maxxis Mudzilla’s on the right

 

So not wasting much time I decided to buy alloys and mounted the tyres on the new wheels in the beginning of December 2010.

Installation Pictures 

 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-2 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-3 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-8

 

Comparison of the NDMS vs the MUDZILLA’s

CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-12 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-14CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-18

Final Pictures after the installation

CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-23 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-21 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-24

 

Though its the start of the winters and it starts to get really dark around 6pm ish, but still I was itching to try out the tyres. I immediately gave a call to Rahul Roy and Ankit Singh Chaudhury to accompany me to the DND track so that I could test out the tyres. Both of them agreed to come over and also a special thanks to Praneet Singh who came in his vehicle. Guys I really own you all. Thanks a ton for coming over at a such a short notice.

So this was a short and small OTR just to test the tyres on the vehicle.  I do not have lot many more pictures (barring the following few) as I wasn’t carrying my camera 😦 which is quite apparent from the quality of the pictures, but again bad or low quality pictures are still better than no pictures at all.

Some pictures at the start of track

CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-25 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-26 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-27 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-28

Ankit’s Santro can be seen in the background. I’d say that only an off-roader can muster up the courage do this and get his vehicle at a off-road track. Also can be seen in one of the pictures is Ankit’s son Suryansh who I am sure would grow up to be one good off-roader, just like his dad. I was infact lucky to get the wheels back from him as he wanted to do the whole track single handedly. he he he…

CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-31 CJ3B Tyre change MAXXIS MUDZILLAS at Kartar tyre-32

 

Now I would wrap this up finally saying that the tyres are simply fantastic. I just wish that I’d done this earlier. Plus coupled with the massive power and torgue of the petrol powered Hurricane engine the vehicle just glides over any and every kind of obstacles. And slush, well I would like to upload a video at a later date for you guys to see the performance of the tyres in slush and water.

Again I’d say I wish that I’d done this earlier.

Cheers guys and take care

  1. December 17, 2010 at 12:28 AM

    Looks killer Harjeev! Can you pls email me Suryansh’s full size pic. Thanks buddy!

    • Harjeev Singh Chadha
      December 17, 2010 at 8:30 AM

      Thanks Ankit. Buddy the pictures that I took on this day are from a phone cam therefore the picture quality is really bad. Nevertheless I have mailed you the full sized picture.
      Cheers
      Harjeevv

  2. javed khan
    August 30, 2012 at 4:10 PM

    Hi Harjeev this is javed from gurgaon i have a willys jeep with same tyer as u have please tell me about this tyre where u buy and the cost of single tyre.

    regards, javed khan

  1. February 9, 2011 at 12:15 AM

Leave a Reply

