Home > Toyota Land Cruiser > Toyota LandCruiser – Maintenance Update I (104600 Kms)

Toyota LandCruiser – Maintenance Update I (104600 Kms)

February 3, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Summary of Maintenance of the TLC
Thursday 2nd September 2010
Now that I was back in Delhi I had to get the vehicle checked up completely.
I’d earlier decided that I would get it done at a trusted garage in Vasant Kunj. The name of the garage in BE BOBBIE AUTOMOBILES (BBA) and is owned by Benedict Bobbie. Bobbie has been in this business for the past 20 years and my friend Neeloy Sarkar, another TLC owner, has been getting his vehicle serviced and maintained from Bobbie since the past 3 years and needless to say that he is extremely happy. Also I had been to Bobbies workshop previously, and the kind of vehicles standing there simply amazed me. I had seen the likes of Range Rover Sports, a Mercedes M class, numerous E Class’s, Pajeros, PARADO’s amongst many other vehicles. So I thought if these owners can trust Bobbie with their vehicles why can I. I’ll be honest that all these vehicles were not there for mechanical work, some of them were just for a complete paintjob, but still many of them were for mechanical work. Then moreover I do not really want to go to high profile places to get my TLC services, reason being one I didn’t want to overspend and second in my experience independent garage do the work better, So as I’d decided earlier that I would first hunt for a decent garage and then buy the vehicle. My simple philosophy is that if I don’t know or understand the vehicle, I should know and have to trust the person who is doing or working on the vehicle.

 

Collage 104600 Image100001

 

I was back in Delhi on Thursday the 2nd of September 2010 , and was at Bobbie’s workshop in the evening. Bobbie drove the vehicle and gave his verdict as follows

  • The engine is quite silent and well maintained.
  • The brakes are a little weak. He was actually surprised that how did I drive 2500 kms on these brakes, but they (the brakes) really felt ok to me.
  • The suspension was a little stiff, especially the front. This I later realised might have also been due to the extremely high tyre pressure I was running. Sample this FL 34psi, FR 32psi, RR 54psi & RL 48psi. This might have been wrongly filled up by the Navsari tyre shop.
  • Rest I fixed up the scheduled service for Saturday 4th of September 2010.

After this it was time to meet my trusted old friend and guide Mandeep Singh
He took the vehicle for a spin and remarked that this was one of the most silent 1HD-T engines that he had heard, and coming from him this remark definitely meant something. He too advised me to just get a normal service done and then maintain the vehicle as and when thing crop up, that is if they do.

Saturday 4th of September 2010
We had fixed up a time for 11 am and I was at the workshop a little late.
The work was started and now Ill let the pictures do the talking and give narrations in between

MOTOR FLUSH WAS USED
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-101-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-2.jpg

THEN THE AIR FLITER WAS TAKEN OUT OR I SHOULD SAY THAT I WAS TAKEN Aback when I saw the status of the air filter.

See for yourself
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-102-air-filter-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-4.jpg

Guys working on the cruiser
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-111-guys-working-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-6.jpg

The suspension was checked and 1 shock absorbers, the Front Left, were found to be leaking and/ or very hard, I do not remember.

I took the decision to change all four of them.
Here is a picture of the old shock absorber
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-121-old-shock-absorber-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-7.jpg

And a picture of a set of 4 brand new set of four
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-123-new-shocks-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-13.jpg

As the brakes were found to be weak we took the decision of changing all the brake pad and along with this the front discs and rear drums were taken out and send for a lathe job (turning or facing). I do not know what this means but this is what they said. The front discs and rear drums was opened up, checked and cleaned.

Pictures of the front discs after turning
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-131-front-discs-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-15.jpg
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-132-front-discs-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-16.jpg
Pics of the rear drums after facing (turning)
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-133-rear-drums-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-20.jpg
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-135-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-23.jpg

Here is a pic of the rear drum opened up and cleaned

Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-135-rear-drums-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-22.jpg

Some more pics of the break overhaul in progress.
Front Disc (another pic)
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-136-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-24.jpg
Front assemble completely removed
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-137-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-25.jpg

As I wrote earlier that there was oil leaking, only slightly but still, from somewhere on the engine block. So the inlet manifold was opened up, cleaned and put back.
Some pics of the manifold work in progress

The air intake manifold

Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-140-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-26.jpg

Engine without the inlet manifold

Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-141-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-28.jpg
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-142-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-29.jpg

As I wrote above about the choked air filter, I had no idea how bad it was until I clicked a pic of the old and the new air filter side by side.

OLD AND NEW AIR FILTER SIDE BY SIDE
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-143-old-new-air-filter-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-32.jpg

Now that I think about of, had I even changed the old air filter in Bangalore with a new one, I would have got a FE of 10 km/ ltr instead of 8.6 km/ ltr I could have saved approx 40 liters of fuel which translates to a saving of approx 1500-1600 buck or 14% the cost of the trip. Not to mention the ill effect it would have saved on the health of the engine. Anyways what has happened has happened and cannot be changed. Maybe the next TLC I buy from out of state I would do this
Heheheheheheh

Some old parts that were removed/ changed/ replaced

Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-144-old-parts-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-33.jpg

Some of the new stuff that was bought can be seen in this picture
Air Filter, Fuel Filter, Oil Filter, Brake Pad Set, Brake Oil, Engine Oil
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-145-new-stuff-bought-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-9.jpg
Toyota Landcruiser - 80 Series HDJ80 - Maintenance Update (pg.8)-146-new-stuff-bought-fj80-service-bobbie-104600-11.jpg

Many of you would notice that the air filter is not OEM Toyota and a after market brand. The reason for this was that the new one was not available and I didn’t wanna run the vehicle anymore on the chocked or I should say filter less air filter. So I am already scouting for a genuine air filter and this would be changed at the next service
Along with the above all the fan belts were changed too. The OEM belts are really expensive and I didn’t want to run the vehicle anymore on the local after market inferior quality belts. Though I’d say that these “local after market inferior quality belts” came to my rescue in the middle of nowhere so Ii would be keeping them as spare in the toolkit at all times.

So the stuff that was bought, changed and/ or replaced today was

  • Shock Absorbers (all 4)
  • Fan Belts (2 small ones and 1 big one)
  • Oil filter, fuel filter, Air Filter
  • Engine Oil (10 liters)
  • Brake Pads (1 set)
  • Engine Flush
  • Labor (Service, Brake Overhaul along with disc turning, Suspension Overhaul, Inlet manifold cleaning)

Things remaining

  • Change of all lubricants except Engine oil (Gear Oil, Transfer Case Oil, Front & Rear Differential Oil, Power Steering Oil, Brake Oil,
  • Timing belt change

ISSUES FACED AFTER THE 1ST SERVICE
After the fuel filter was changed the vehicle started giving starting problem in the morning, Whenever I would keep it parked overnight it started taking in air. So this was diagnosed with a faulty fuel filter assembly

cont to next post….

  1. Abhyuday Singh
    February 6, 2011 at 2:36 PM

    Dear Sir,
    I have gone through the post and would like to purchase a simmiliar type of vehicle. Can u give the suggestive price which can be paid for the vehicle.
    Thanking You,
    regards,
    Abhyuday

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

