Home > MM550 > My MM550, In its new Avatar happy with its new owner

My MM550, In its new Avatar happy with its new owner

February 12, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hey guys,

As many would know that the 1st off-road vehicle that I had bought and restored was a Mahindra & Mahindra MM550. Threads are all over this blog under the MM550 section.

Anyways the new owner that I sold the vehicle to, has done a complete restoration himself and practically rebuild the vehicle from all over again.

I recently received an email from him with pictures and a brief writeup on the work that he’s done on the vehicle. So the first thing that I thought was to share it with everyone.

Thanks a lot to the new owner for sharing these pictures and giving me permission to share it with the community.

MM550 Collage - Copy

Please click the link to continue reading

 

To give you a brief update of what happened last year, I had first a few
things done that needed attention ;

  • Steering fixed
  • Shock absorbers changed
  • Brake pads changed
  • New Bosch horn
  • New safety belts installed
  • Hand brake installed
  • New rubber seals for windows
  • Window washer installed
  • New Apollo spare tyre
  • Spare tyre fixed at the rear
  • Battery switch installed
  • Radio/CD and 4 speakers installed
  • Cigarette lighter front and rear installed
  • Also, I had all light and indicator switches moved to the dashboard and the gear lever position changed to have more leg room. 
  • In parallel the registration was changed to Bombay MH1 plates.  That was not easy but all papers are clear and clean now.

Beginning of September 2010, I brought the jeep to the official Mahindra workshop
here in Bombay for repainting, engine overhaul etc.
They told they need 7-8 weeks to do the job.

At the end the car was ready on December 31st, after 17 weeks !!!
During that time I had to go the workshop twice a week to make sure they do
the work properly.

The work done at Mahindra: 

  • Completely disassemble the jeep 
  • Stripping and repainting in Sahara White Matte
  • Changing all rubber seals, washers, rubber pads, etc.
  • Engine overhaul
  • Gear box overhaul
  • Transmission overhaul
  • Differential overhaul
  • Clutch overhaul
  • Injection pump overhaul
  • Frame and wheel alignment
  • New head and rear lights
  • New electric wiring
  • New water/fire proof canvas top
  • New seat upholstery front and rear
  • New side window lifters and handles
  • New steering wheel
  • New door stoppers
  • New engine insulation
  • Complete undercoating
  • New door panels

So basically it is a new car now.

In the first week of January I went with my oldest son to Goa and back. It was a 2.000 km trip mainly on small and narrow side roads and the jeep did a very good job.
Of course a few things were not done right at Mahindra.
They forgot the overhaul of the injection pump, the door lock on the driver side dropped down after 200 km but was fixed in a Mahindra workshop on the way, the hand brake was not adjusted correctly, one of the head lights suddenly stopped working, the hazard light switch was not connected and a few minor other things. Now the car is back at Mahindra and will be ready next week.

Still, about XXXX.xx rupees later, I have to say it is a great jeep. For the money I spent on the jeep altogether, I could have bought the new Mahindra Thar, but it won’t be the same.
Best wishes from Bombay, 
XXXXX

 

mm550 (1) mm550 (2) mm550 (3) mm550 (4) mm550 (5) mm550 (6) mm550 (7) mm550 (8) mm550 (9) mm550 (10) mm550 (11) mm550 (12) mm550 (13) mm550 (14) mm550 (15) mm550 (16) mm550 (17) mm550 (18) mm550 (19) mm550 (20) mm550 (21) mm550 (22) mm550 (23) mm550 (24)

  1. December 22, 2011 at 10:16 PM

    Hello Sir,

    I read through your entire blog and thanks for the detailed description on jeeps!

    I am more of a traveller and was searching for a jeep. Found one after some search at Mayapuri (MM-550). Its so much confusion and i don’t have any acquaintance or friend who knows about jeeps 😦

    Few questions which i have:

    1) Do we really need a 4WD (personally i would love to :)) for travel (may include some icy patches or deserts, rarely)

    2) How do i identify a good Army disposal? As i mentioned, i don’t have trustworthy mechanic to guide me. Any tips or contacts would be great.

    3)Ana rmy friend of mine (worth trusting) says jeeps give lot of trouble in high terrains? Do you think so? My main idea is covering distances which is always away from the comfort zone. So naturally i am bit worried 😐

    Being an experienced ‘jeeper’ I am sure you can guide me better than anyone i know of.

    Thank you in advance for your time πŸ™‚

    Doulos

  2. Sachin Kumar
    January 2, 2012 at 3:15 PM

    Hi All

    I am also looking forward to buy MM550. I have some queries and doubts. Could your please tell me If you are available to guide me?

    Thanks
    Sachin

  3. Sachin Kumar
    January 2, 2012 at 3:15 PM

    Hi All
    I am also looking forward to buy MM550. I have some queries and doubts. Could your please tell me If you are available to guide me?
    Thanks
    Sachin

    • vikram
      February 24, 2012 at 12:00 AM

      hi sachin ,have u bought the jeep as i am selling mine so please be free to contact me at 9888508714

  4. Susan Koshy
    February 29, 2012 at 2:12 PM

    Harjeev,

    I just came across your blog. It is very useful especially for people like me who are getting acquainted with the jeeps, in particular the MM540. Harjeev, like you I am looking for a very reliable, trustworthy person who knows, loves and understand jeeps as I would like someone to look at my jeep. I am fed-up with Mayapuri. I googled on Sudhir Kashyap, found a number and called – but was rather surprised by the response I got.

    Would you please direct me to a good mechanic/workshop? I was delighted to read about the workshop in Jaipur. I live in Delhi. Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Cheers. Susan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

