Home > Gypsy > Finally the Gypsy come’s home

Finally the Gypsy come’s home

I bought the vehicle (if it could be called a vehicle, as the state it was in) in the 1st week of December 2010. This was exactly 6 months after I sold my 2006 MPFI Gypsy last June. When I sold the gypsy in June I thought that I wouldn’t buy another one, Ever. And this is when I remember being told by a friend “Bappe, Whatever you do, I know that you would buy a Gypsy in the next 6 months”. Its believed that predictions don’t come true, but in my case, it surely did. Now 6 months after I bought this vehicle, which WAS, as friends termed it, “A RUST BUCKET” now stands totally transformed.

IMG_5632

Please click below to continue…

It was a very long and tedious job and I am very sure that no one else could have pulled it off. I whole heartedly salute AA of AA for AA.  Let me explain Aman Ahluwalia of Auto Attitudes for Amazingly Awesome work. Also I would like to thank the team of workers at the workshop who have toiled and worked hard in the peak of the summer months to bring the vehicle in the current state. I salute you guys.

Finally the D-day was this Saturday June 4, 2011. I couldn’t believe it that I was standing there taking the delivery of my old but new vehicle.

Now I leave you with some pictures that we took at the workshop. Will try to take better quality pictures in a couple of day and post it too.

Another aspect that many would like to know is how much did I spend on the vehicle. Well, the answer to that is, this vehicle is priceless, but by the time I am finished with the rebuild I believe that the total cost would be an approximately 15-20% less than the price of a brand new gypsy. yes, this should be the range. In this range I have included the complete rebuild cost, cost of the vehicle, goodies that I plan to put in the vehicle like front off-road bumper, air-conditioning, in car entertainment, fog lamps, etc etc etc. However I think if I stop the buck now, that is as is where is, the price should be considerably less, though I haven’t calculated. Anybody wanting to know any specific’s please get in touch with me directly on harjeev@hotmail.com.

Cheers

Harjeev

As always please click on the pictures to see the full sizeIMG_5597IMG_5600

 

Stickering Experts at WorkIMG_5587IMG_5590IMG_5591

 

IMG_5621IMG_5629IMG_5624

IMG_5639

 

 

IMG_5632IMG_5638IMG_5650IMG_5656IMG_5611IMG_5619IMG_5638

  1. Rajesh Malkani
    June 6, 2011 at 3:50 PM

    Now I am falling short of words….

    • Harjeev Singh Chadha
      June 9, 2011 at 11:52 AM

      Thanks a lot Rajesh, Your loss of words still means alot.
      Cheers

  2. Nitin
    June 7, 2011 at 10:11 AM

    Congratulations Buddy!! will go for the car portfolio together some day :o)…n ya ritely said Gypsy is a addiction!! I don’t remember when I drove my car last since I have bought the Gypay.
    Enjoy your Ride!!

    • Harjeev Singh Chadha
      June 9, 2011 at 11:56 AM

      Thanks Nitin. You have rightly said, the Gypsy is more than an addiction but a really good one… Will be waiting for the photoshoot, whenever you’re free
      Cheers Mate

  3. dinesh pulgam
    June 8, 2011 at 1:36 PM

    plz call me on this nb xxxxx-xxxxxi am intrest in rebuilt my maruti gypsy so plz contact me dinesh

    • Harjeev Singh Chadha
      June 9, 2011 at 11:53 AM

      Dinesh. Ive sent you an email with my phone no.
      Cheers

  4. June 17, 2011 at 11:58 AM

    loved.. your gypzy., I read you posts in team bhp as a guest., i tried so many time to get an account on team bhp but unfortunately i am failed allways….

    great restoration… really loved it.

  5. TARUNPREET SINGH
    August 30, 2011 at 3:29 PM

    some guys are blessed with obsession so as u

  6. Yudhvender Singh
    September 2, 2011 at 4:33 PM

    Hello Mr Chadha,

    Beautiful gypsy.

    Sir Ji, I am looking 4WD gypsy. Can you guide me / Help me to get the same.

    Regards

    Yudhvender Singh
    9818691019

    • Harjeev Singh Chadha
      September 3, 2011 at 5:04 AM

      Hi Mr.Singh
      Thanks for the appreciation.
      Sir indeed, good conditioned Gypsys are difficult to find and infact quite rare. This was the very reason I decided to go for the restoration path rather than go for the IInd hand route. That said its not impossible to come across good IInd hand examples. You can begin your search on the Classified section at http://www.team-bhp.com or the IInd hand section on carwale.com (no idea whether I have the url correct, but you could google it).
      However if you wanna restore a vehicle, you can always do what I’ve done. Pick up a rust bucket, like mine 😀 and do the restoration as per your specifications.
      Cheers
      Harjeev

      • Yudhvender Singh
        September 3, 2011 at 10:57 AM

        Thanks for the valuable feedback.

        If i go by the restoration path than i need your guidiance. As i told looking for gypsy with

        4WD/ Power stearing/ AC/ Power Brakes/ Disel Engine.

        Now i have following queries

        1) Shall i go for army disposal gypsy or the civil one
        2) Who does this type of restoration work in NCR.
        3) Is there any difference in army disposal & civil gypsy.
        4) what will be appox expenses with spex.
        Thanks & Regards

  7. nitin
    August 3, 2015 at 11:15 PM

    Sir i want to buy an army disposed restored gypsy. its a 2000 softop model but restored with isuzu engine, with normal wheels and new tyres, newly painted body and new seats.
    Please tell me what should i pay for it as owner is asking for 3,21,000 Rs.
    please guide me.
    nitin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

