Home > Toyota Land Cruiser > Toyota Landcruiser- Uneven Tyre Wear -Suspension Bushes Changed

Toyota Landcruiser- Uneven Tyre Wear -Suspension Bushes Changed

February 10, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

As per my last post (Read about it here) regarding the uneven tyre wear in the rear two tyres, after talking and consulting my friends and the workshop manager we concluded that the issue might be with the suspension bushes and we’d start with that. As I had no idea whether the suspension bushes were replaced in the last 13 years while it was with the previous owners and definitely it had not been done since I’ve had it, I decided to go ahead and start with changing the bushes.

Now the dilemma that came forward was whether to replace them with OEM Toyota Bushes or go for the after market available options. Initially I’d decided that I might go for the aftermarket available options but then I thought that I might never do hardcore off-roading with my vehicle as for me its primarily a long distance travel vehicle . Additionally the thing that scared me was that, if the problem were not sorted out by installing the aftermarket bushes and the tyres kept on wearing unevenly the workshop might say that, as I am not using OEM products and that can’t help me. At the same time the aftermarket vendors might say as I have not gone in for the complete suspension upgrade which might include the springs, shock absorber sets, etc etc they cant help me. Further more the complete suspension upgrade would have cost anything upwards of Rs.90K-100K and I was not in a mindset to spend that much amount at the present time. So finally last week I made the decision and sent the vehicle to the workshop to change the bushes with OEM ones.

Received the vehicle back on the 7th of February 2012. It was also found out that the Front Knuckle Left Side Stud was missing and they could not source it from their channel. So the left side stud was fabricated using the right side as a copy.

The initial impression is the vehicle has become very smooth especially over potholes and uneven roads. The uneven tyre were issue would have to wait untill the vehicle completes 10000 Kms, which would be done by the end of March 2012. In February I am off for the Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm in Rajasthan and Gujarat in which I anticipate that the vehicle would cover 3500-4000 Kms. Then in March I am travelling with my family to Mumbai and Goa which would cover another 4000-4500 Kms. Will update the thread then. In the meantime I am turning the tyres inside out so that I can gauge if the tyres still wear out unevenly.

The Final Bill came to a total of Rs.32,207.00 including a labor of Rs.7,545.

The ODO meter now reads 132237 Kms

Some pictures of the old Bushes

 

IMG_20120210_143036IMG_20120210_143114IMG_20120210_143123

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

