Home > General > 30DayChallenge – What Is It & Why I Did It?

30DayChallenge – What Is It & Why I Did It?

When I started this #30DayChallenge I didn’t know whether I would be able to complete the challenge which I was about to attempt. What was this challenge all about? Well, without going too much into details let me briefly attempt to explain.

I’ve never been fond or let me say, I’ve never been a guy who’s fond of going to the gym and working out. To be frank I’ve never enjoyed it. So the options left to me were swimming and then other form of exercises like walking and cycling. Though I love swimming, the lack of good and affordable options to us Delhities ‘#MangoPeople’ who aren’t members of any elite social clubs are far and few. So the second best option left to me was cycling. I purchased my 1st cycle in 2008 and started cycling off & on. I wasn’t documenting it as I never cycled that regularly.

This went on for about 4 years  and during all this time I didn’t even cycle for more than 25-30% of this duration. Then in 2012 I purchased my 2nd cycle. A TREK Mountain Bike Model Gary Fisher Wahoo. The lure of a new bike made me very regular in cycling for the better part of 2012 and I cycled for a good 7430 Kms. Look at the monthly graph below.

 

Harjeev 's Cycling Stats for 2012 on Endomondo

Harjeev ‘s Cycling Stats for 2012 on Endomondo

 

Well, I thought that I’d become regular in cycling but I think that I counted my chickens much before hatched. Come 2013 and the annual Kms came down from 7430Kms to just 2600 Kms.

 

Harjeev 's Cycling Stats for 2013 on Endomondo

Harjeev ‘s Cycling Stats for 2013 on Endomondo

 

 

And shamefully in for the first half of 2014 to just 460Kms (excluding for the month of Jun & Jul’14).

 

Harjeev 's Cycling Stats for 2014 on Endomondo

Harjeev ‘s Cycling Stats for 2014 on Endomondo

The Yearly Stats

Harjeev 's Cycling Stats for 2012-2014(17-Aug-14) on Endomondo

Harjeev ‘s Cycling Stats for 2012-2014(17-Aug-14) on Endomondo

 

I knew what my problem was, That I was too lazy. I always began with a lot of gusto, but after a couple of day, the initial enthusiasm would die down more or less like a deflating balloon and I would stop exercising completely.

It was around this time only that I came to know of a group on FB #30DayChallenge. The basic purpose of this challenge was to walk as little as 1Km a day. Yes just 1 Km. I know many would think that what is a purpose of walking just 1KM. Well, what it does is helps break the ice and makes one leave the comfort of ones home and start working out. Walking 1 Km takes just under 15 mins, so it can be done anytime.

So I thought to myself. If this can be done for walking, why can’t I apply this concept for cycling as well. Hense I devised my own 5:1 Daily 30DayChallenge, Which is a minimum of 5 Miles (8Kms) Cycling and 1 Mile (1.60 Kms) Walking

 

Initially the 1st  couple of days were hard and needed a little effort. But once it became a habit, it doesn’t seem like a big chore and take little effort now, it feels like something I have to do as a part of my daily routine. Now I can safely say that the best thing I’ve done for myself is start & complete this challenge. What this has also given me is the discipline I needed to get out and start working workout and also and more importantly, the courage and self-confidence that I can accomplish or get close to what I set out to achieve for. Some of you may ask, Cycling is alright, but why Walking. Well walking is essential as when traveling, like on vacations or for work, I can’t carry my cycle everywhere. Further, I’ve observed with my past experiences, even when there’s a slight break during the workouts, I completely stop working out. What Walking would help me with is keep the workout cycle running, so even when I’m back from my travels, I still am in the habit of working out.

I know I wanted to write a small post and this has been rather a bit longer than usual. I leave you with the stats of the #Daily #30DayChallenge.

These entire graphs and stats have been maintained at Endomondo. Here’s a link to my public profile on Endomondo

 

30Day Workout Calender

30Day Workout Calender - Endomondo

30Day Workout Calender – Endomondo

 

Monthly & Weekly Stats for Fitness Walking

Stats for Fitness Walking 30 Day Challenge

Stats for Fitness Walking 30 Day Challenge

 

Monthly & Weekly Stats for Cycling

Stats for Cycling 30 Day Challenge - Endomondo

Stats for Cycling 30 Day Challenge – Endomondo

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

